About the Student

Moving from my home in the Lehigh Valley to Happy Valley, I am excited to start my journey at Penn State! Specifically, I am interested in researching hospital learning and the impact of physical activity on achievement. I graduated from Syracuse University in December 2016 with a B.S. in Psychology and a B.A. in Policy Studies.

I have lived in Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia as well, but my family has lived in Pennsylvania the longest and I call this state home. I graduated from Penn State Schreyer Honors College in 2015 with BA's in Psychology and Communication Arts & Sciences, and I'm thrilled to be back! After finishing undergrad, from summer 2015 through summer 2017 I had the privilege to manage Dr. Tara Chaplin's longitudinal Parent Teen and Parenting Mindfully studies at George Mason University. I am excited to continue to study children and teens with the TIES program here at Penn State. My current research interests include social-emotional skill development, school based intervention and prevention programs, emotion regulation, and child relationships with peers, parents, and teachers. 

I was born and raised in a small town in New York. I graduated from the University of Rhode Island in 2017 with a B.A. in psychology, a B.S. in human development and family studies, and a certificate in applied behavioral psychology. I had the pleasure of interning in two center-based schools for students with disabilities and I also provided home-based therapeutic services to a child with autism spectrum disorder. I am interested in researching autism spectrum disorder and learning disabilities during my time at Penn State.

I am originally from Parsippany, New Jersey, but I lived in New Orleans for four years while earning my B.S. in Psychology from Tulane University. My primary research interest is in the various factors that influence engagement, including special needs, student-teacher relationships, and the emotional climate of the classroom environment.

Psychology. I am currently interested in establishing some "gold standards" for clinicians using Curriculum-Based Assessments (CBA) on Spanish-speaking students.

I was born in a small town in Minnesota and attended the University of Minnesota for a BA in Psychology. I took a gap year in 2016 to work as a paraprofessional in a middle school to gain some realistic experience. In the future, I would like to research early intervention and prevention practices for students with disabilities. 

I was born in upstate New York but spent most of my life living in in Bellefonte, Pennsylvania. I attended the Indiana University of Pennsylvania where I obtained a B.A. in Psychology with a minor in Spanish. My research interests include the long-term effects of adverse childhood experiences and the impact these experiences have on education.

I grew up in Baltimore, Maryland and I attended Stevenson University for my Bachelors degree. At Stevenson, I majored in psychology and minored in biology. I am working as a graduate assistant in the Counselor Education department. In the future, I am interested in researching interventions for students with mental illness and learning disabilities. 

I was born in Florida but grew up as a military kid in Hawaii, Japan, Singapore, and the Philippines.  I graduated from Penn State in 2016 with a B.S. in Psychology and loved Happy Valley so much that I decided to stay for graduate school!  My current research focuses on how school psychologists use Pinterest in regards to internalizing disorders.  I hope to continue my research in internalizing disorders to work on suicide prevention particularly in military children. 

I grew up in Valley stream, NY and attended Towson University and CUNY Queens College before receiving my B.A. in Psychology. I am currently working on student and teacher perspectives of a class environment. Due to my strong interest in motivation, I hope to look at the role of student motivation and its role as a protective factor for at-risk students.  I am also interested in researching the applications of mindfulness practices of psychology in schools. 

I grew up in Allentown, Pennsylvania and graduated from Juniata College in 2015 with a B.S. in Psychology. I am currently interested in the relationship between class size and student perceptions of the classroom environment. However, in the future I hope to explore research regarding parent academic involvement among low-income families. 

Although I've lived in Pennsylvania, Germany, and Tennessee, home for me is in Hudson, OH. I graduated from Westminster College (PA) in 2016 with a BA in Psychology studying parenting behaviors, explanatory styles, and coping strategies. My current research interests include anxiety, mindfulness, and self-efficacy.

I grew up in York, Pennsylvania. I am the 5th generation of my family to attend Penn State. I graduated from here in 2015 with a B.S. in Psychology.  Currently, I am a graduate assistant for the Clearinghouse for Military Family Readiness. My research interest focus on student-teacher relationships, anxiety, attention, and impulse control.

I was born and raised in south Florida, where I graduated from Florida Atlantic University with my B.A. in Psychology in 2014. Afterwards, in 2016 I completed my M.A. in Experimental Psychology, with a background in cognitive psychology. My research interests include the relationship between mindfulness and executive functioning, social-emotional learning, and interventions in classroom settings that promote self-regulation.

I am a Long Island native who graduated from Manhattan College with a B.A. in Psychology, English, and Spanish in 2015. My research interests are widespread, but currently include counseling, technology-based services, and autism. I look forward to seeing where my experiences at Penn State take my future research interests!

I was born and raised in Odessa, Ukraine and moved to the United States in 2010. I graduated from the University of Delaware with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and then worked as a Child Psychiatric Rehabilitation Counselor at a non-profit organization. My current research interests revolve around increasing cultural awareness in schools

I graduated from Westminster College (PA) in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and a minor in Writing. I have been pursuing a PhD in School Psychology since 2014 and received my Master's in Education in 2016. Prior to graduate school, I developed an interest in clinical intervention research broadly while working as a research associate on a randomized controlled trial. As a TIES fellow, I am pursing research related in the evaluation of school readiness interventions for preschoolers in low-income environments under the direction of my mentors, Dr. Cristin Hall and Dr. Karen Bierman. See my professional website here:

I was born in New York City, but quickly moved to Connecticut just hours after my birth and grew up in Connecticut, capping off my experience in the state with attending the University of Connecticut. I graduated in 2014 with a BA in Psychology, Honors track. During my time at UConn, I was involved in a neuroscience research lab, with emphasis placed on dopamine related disorders (depression, Parkinson’s, primarily). I wrote my Honors Thesis on the Individual Differences between Sprague-Dawley Rats on a Progressive Ratio Operant Task. Currently, my research interests have switched from rats to School Psychology, and include motivation and its relation to test anxiety, assessment efficacy, depression, and autism.

I graduated in 2012 from the University of Maryland (go Terps!) with a B.A. in Psychology and a minor in Human Development. My current research interests include prevention and early intervention programming in the school system, especially related to the development of self-regulation and coping skills.

I have a B.A. in policy studies from Syracuse University, M.S. in teaching from Pace University, and M.Ed. in school psychology from Penn State. I taught middle school special education in Brooklyn, NY for 8 years. Broadly, I am interested in issues of social justice and educational equity. Under the mentorship of Dr. Jim DiPerna, I am pursuing research related to an IES-funded trial of a universal social-emotional learning program, focusing on educator perceptions and cultural considerations. My E-Portfolio can be found here: 

I am originally from Wilkes-Barre, PA, although I spent my high school years in Reston, VA.  I graduated from Duke University with a B.A. in Psychology and Visual Art.  My research interests include racial awareness and attitudes of biracial children, interventions to improve the social and emotional well-being of children and adolescents, and the impact of physical activity on academic outcomes.

I am originally from Germany but have been living in New York and Connecticut since 2001. I graduated from CUNY Hunter College with a Bachelors in Psychology and from Fairfield University with a Masters in Applied Psychology. Prior to coming to Penn State in 2012, I worked for three years as a clinical research assistant at the Rhode Island Hospital’s Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurology. My current research interests are self-efficacy as well as stress and anxiety in children.

I grew up in Pittsburgh, PA. I attended Juniata College in Huntingdon, PA where I graduated with a B.S. in Psychology and a minor in Education in 2012. My current research interests include bullying prevention, measurement and crisis intervention.
I grew up in a small town called Lititz, which is in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. I graduated from Cornell University in 2006 with a bachelor's degree in Anthropology. That same year I joined the 2006 Teach For America corps in Philadelphia, where I taught 7th and 8th grade science for two years. I graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 2008 with a master's in education. For the past three years I taught 5th and 6th grade science at Excellence Boys Charter School, an all male, K-8 school in Brooklyn NY. Right now I am interested in researching social-emotional learning and social skill development.
I am originally from Rochester, NY, but I have lived in Philadelphia for the past 7 years. I graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 2008 with a B.A. in Psychology and French Studies and then worked as a research assistant studying community mental health. My current research interests include early intervention, at-risk populations and bullying.
I graduated from the Aristotle University of Thessalonki, Greece in 2011 with a diploma in Psychology and concentration field in Developmental and School Psychology. My current research interests include language minority students, assessment practices, program evaluation, and implementation science.
I am originally from Washington State. I graduated from Whitman College with a B. A. in Psychology. My current research interests involve multicultural issues and diversity, especially in relation to foreign born and international students. My other interests are shopping, reading , exercising and enjoying the company of good friends.

Not all enrolled students are listed.