Faculty Council

Faculty Council page listing information about the faculty council in the Penn State College of Education.

2017-18  Meeting Dates

All 2017-18 Faculty Council meetings will be held from 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm.

The following meetings will be held in 228AChambers:

September 21, 2017
October 19, 2017
November 16, 2017
December 14, 2017
January 18, 2018

The following meetings will be held in 273 Chambers:

February 15, 2018
March 15, 2018
April 19, 2018

Executive Council Members - 2017-18

Department Representatives

Curriculum & Instruction

(2016-2018) - SP2018
Ashley Patterson (SP2017 & FA2017) - representing Rachel Wolkenhauer while on leave.

Education Policy Studies

Educational Psychology, Counseling & Special Education

Learning & Performance Systems

Gabriela Richard (2017-19)

Dean's Representative

Rayne Sperling, Associate Dean for Undergraduate & Graduate Education

University Faculty Senate Liaison (Senate Council representative)

Student Representatives

College of Education Elected Positions


Deirdre O'Sullivan, Associate Professor  (2017-19))

Alternate Ombudsperson
Dana Mitra, Professor  (2017-19)

University Faculty Senate

David Post  (2017-18)
David Passmore  (2015-18)
Richard Duschl  (2015-19)
Julia Plummer  (2015-19)
Julia Bryan  (2016-2020)
Jacqueline Reid-Walsh (2017-2021)

First Alternate 

University Graduate Council

M. Kathy Heid  (2016-18)
Scott Metzger (2016-2018)
Elizabeth Hughes (2017-19)

Mari Haneda  (2017-2019)
Simon Hooper (2016-2018)

Faculty Council Standing Committees

Committee on Curricular Affairs

TBA, -- Faculty Council Representative
Bill Carlsen, Professor, CI
Susan Land, Associate Professor,  LPS
David Gamson, Associate Professor, EPS
Deirdre O'Sullivan, Associate Professor, EPCSE
Rayne Sperling, Associate Dean -- Dean's Representative and Chair
John Holst, Associate Professor, LPS  -- University Graduate Council Liaison
Julia Plummer, Associate Professor -- Faculty Senate Liaison

Committee on Promotion & Tenure - 2017-18

Gerald LeTendre, Professor, EPS  (2017-19) -- Dean's Appointee
David Gamson, Associate Professor, EPS (2016-18) -- Dean's Appointee
Simon Hooper, Professor, LPS  (2015-18)
P. Karen Murphy, Professor, EPCSE  (2016-19)
Gwen Lloyd, Professor, CI  (2017-20)
Scott McDonald, Associate Professor, CI (2017-20)
Richard Kubina, Professor, EPCSE (2017-18)

Committee on Graduate Studies & Research Policy - 2017-18

Matthew Poehner, Associate Professor, CI
Jennifer Frank, Assistant Professor,  EPCSE
Soo-yong Byun, Associate Professor, EPS (faculty council representative)
Gabriela Richard, Assistant Professor, LPS
Rayne Sperling, Associate Dean -- Dean's Appointee, ex-officio member

Technology Committee - 2017-18

Marcela Borge, Assistant Professor, LPS -- Chair
Katie Hoffman, Associate Professor, EPCSE
Gregory Kelly, Associate Dean -- Dean's Appointee, ex-officio member
Ashton Webb, Doctoral Student (HIED)