Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

College of Education > News and Publications > News: 2009 > Sharon Patrick Appointed by President Spanier to Penn State Task Force

Sharon Patrick Appointed by President Spanier to Penn State Task Force

Sharon Patrick's appointed to Penn State's new Task Force

patrick_sml.jpgby Joe Savrock (April 2009)

Sharon Patrick, administrative support coordinator to the dean, has been asked by President Graham Spanier to serve on the University's new Task Force on Workplace Enhancement.

Patrick joins 12 of her colleagues from around the University to begin work in interpreting the results of the 2008 Faculty/Staff Survey. The Task Force will analyze the survey data in an effort to discover the ongoing challenges the University faces in creating a healthy work environment for its employees. The group will try to identify any existing barriers to employee satisfaction and will be asked to suggest best practices and creative solutions that would further improve the work environment.

Patrick is looking forward to her role with the Task Force. “I have always enjoyed working in the College of Education because of its positive workplace environment,” she said, “and my hope is that I will be able to use my positive work experiences to develop, in collaboration with the other Task Force members, some creative ways to further enhance employee and workplace satisfaction in the larger University.”

The Task Force held its initial meeting recently. Spanier addressed the group, telling them that while the survey suggested significant gains have been made regarding employee and workplace satisfaction, he believes the numbers can still be improved. Spanier acknowledged that Penn State’s employees are working very hard in this effort and he is proud of the University’s progress. He added that he would like to see the University position itself to be recognized as one of the 50 best places to work.

Ken Lehrman, vice provost for affirmative action, is the Task Force chair.