Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

College of Education > News and Publications > News: Jan. - March 2010 > Congratulations Faculty (compiled Feb. 2010)

Congratulations Faculty (compiled Feb. 2010)

An acknowledgment of College of Education faculty for their accomplishments

hughes_sml.jpgCharles Hughes, professor of special education, has been awarded a Fulbright Senior Specialists grant for a monthlong project in South Korea in April.

Hughes will work primarily at the Gongju National University of Education in Gongju. He will be presenting lectures on learning disabilities, learning strategies, and response-to-intervention models. He also will work with graduate students to help them develop single-case research designs for their theses and will consult with student services personnel on developing programs for university students with disabilities. In addition, he plans to travel to other Korean cities, such as Seoul and Busan, to make presentations about learning disabilities.

This is Hughes’ second Fulbright Senior Specialists grant in the past three years. His previous Fulbright was with Stockholm University in 2007.

The Fulbright Senior Specialists Program provides short-term academic opportunities to leading American academics and professionals, in support of curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at academic institutions around the world. The program's purpose is to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.

Lisa R. Lattuca, associate professor of higher education and senior research associate in the Center for the Study of Higher Education, has been named an associate editor of the Journal of Engineering Education (JEE).

JEE, a peer-reviewed international journal published quarterly by the American Society for Engineering Education, is recognized as the premiere research journal in the field of engineering education. The journal serves more than 8,500 subscribers in nearly 100 countries.

David M. Post, professor of comparative & international education and senior research associate in the Center for the Study of Higher Education, has been named the 2010 recipient of the Harold Noah Award in International and Comparative Education. The award, given by Teachers College, Columbia University, highlights both individual and programmatic accomplishments of distinguished alumni in the field.

Post will be honored at the Comparative and International Education Society meeting in Chicago, being held March 1–5.

reid-walsh_sml.jpgreid-walsh_sml.jpgreid-walsh_sml.jpgThe interdisciplinary journal Girlhood Studies, co-founded and co-edited by Jacqueline Reid-Walsh, associate professor of language & literacy education and women's studies, has been awarded the 2009 Prose Award for Best New Journal in the Social Sciences and Humanities. The award is given by the Professional and Scholarly Publishing Division of the Association of American Publishers (AAP) for Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE).

The PROSE Awards annually recognize professional and scholarly publications by bringing attention to distinguished books, journals, and electronic content in over 40 categories.

Reid-Walsh, along with co-editors Claudia Mitchell and the late Jacqueline Kirk (McGill University, Canada), founded Girlhood Studies in 2008. The peer-reviewed journal provides a forum for the critical discussion of girlhood from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. International and interdisciplinary in scope, it is committed to feminist, anti-discrimination, anti-oppression approaches and solicits manuscripts from a variety of disciplines.

Anne L. Whitney, assistant professor of language and literacy education, and seven co-authors have received the 2009 Janet Emig Award from the Conference on English Education, a wing of the National Council of Teachers of English. Each year, the award recognizes the best, most impactful, and most challenging article in the journal English Education.

Whitney is the lead author of the winning article, titled “Beyond Strategies: Teacher Practice, Writing Process, and the Influence of Inquiry." Co-authors are Sheridan Blau, Alison Bright, Rosemary Cabe, Tim Dewar, Jason Levin, Roseanne Macias, and Paul Rogers. The award is given in honor of Janet Emig, professor emerita of English education at Rutgers University, for her contribution to the field of English education.

Shirley A. Woika, assistant professor of school psychology and director of clinical training at Penn State, received the 2009 School Psychologist of the Year award from the Association of School Psychologists of Pennsylvania (ASPP).

Each year, ASPP recognizes a school psychologist for his or her work in providing a full range of services and for exemplary job performance.

zimmerman_sml.jpgHeather Toomey Zimmerman, assistant professor of instructional systems, has won the 2010 Outstanding Doctoral Research Award by the National Association for Research in Science Teaching (NARST). The award recognizes Zimmerman for her dissertation, titled “Everyday science and science every day: Science-related talk and activities across settings,” for its significance in the field of science education. Zimmerman completed her dissertation at the University of Washington. Her work was supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF LIFE Center, SBE-0354453, Science of Learning Center program).

NARST is a worldwide organization of professionals committed to the improvement of science teaching and learning through research.