College of Education > News and Publications > News: April-June 2014 > Student Congratulations (Compiled June 2014)

Student Congratulations (Compiled June 2014)

Congratulations to Maggie Cardin, Emily Giannotti, Allie Goldstein, Duane Graysay, Heather Ervin, Ben Freeburn, Timothy Shrom, Allyson Krupar, Kassidy Stauder, David Taylor, Emily Werns, and Jeff Hart.

Maggie Cardin, a recent childhood and early adolescent education alumna, was awarded the 2014 Stand Up Award from the ROCK Ethics Institute for working to educate emerging teachers to recognize and prevent depression and suicide in students.

Emily Giannotti, a graduate student in counselor education, was recognized for academic and athletic excellence with the 2013-14 Big Ten Medal of Honor as well as the McCoy Award, which is presented annually to one senior female and one senior male student-athlete who have combined successful athletic participation with academic excellence.

Allie Goldstein, a doctoral student in higher education, was nominated by Gov. Tom Corbett to join the Penn State Board of Trustees.

Duane Graysay, Heather Ervin, and Ben Freeburn, three mathematics education doctoral students, received awards to support their research from the Heid, Blume, Zbiek Graduate Mathematics Education Endowment.

Jeff Hart, a graduate student in special education, presented his research titled "The Effects of Physical Activity on the Academic and Behavioral Performance of Children with Behavior Problems: A Meta-Analysis of Single Case Studies" placed third in the Social and Behavioral Sciences category at the Penn State Graduate Exhibition.

Allyson Krupar, a doctoral student in adult education has been selected as one of the top 30 thinkers under 30.

Timothy Shrom, a 2013 graduate from the educational leadership doctoral program with William Hartman, received the Outstanding Dissertation award at the National Education Finance Conference in Louisville, Kentucky. The National Education Finance Conference annually bestows an award for the Outstanding Dissertation in education finance. It is a highly competitive competition and recognition of exceptional work by a new scholar in the field. The criteria include importance of the topic, creativity, significance of the results, technical competence, and contribution to the field.

Kassidy Stauder, a senior in childhood and early adolescent education and a Penn State gymnast received a number of awards and honors, including a new award in her name. The Kassidy Stauder Four-Year Achievement Award will be handed out starting in 2015. Stauder also received the Beltz-Rohrbaugh Balance Beam Award for the third time in her career. In the future, her name will be added to that award, making it the Beltz-Rohrbaugh-Stauder Balance Beam Award. Stauder also received the Barber-Rowland MVP Award, the Kelly Streicher Heart of a Lion Award, and the Laurel Award for Outstanding Service.

David Taylor, a graduate student in Education Policy Studies, was named the male Penn State Athlete of the Year for 2014 and Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year. He is also a nominee to receive an ESPY award. Taylor recently wrapped up one of collegiate wrestling’s most historic careers. He won the 2014 Hodge Trophy as the nation’s top wrestler and was Big Ten Wrestler of the Year for the third time. Taylor became Penn State’s first-ever four-time NCAA finalist and won his second NCAA individual title at 165, leading Penn State to its fourth-straight NCAA Championship in Oklahoma City in March.

Emily Werns, an undergraduate in education and public policy, received the 2014 Outstanding Service Award by the Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equity (CLGBTE), which recognizes the contributions of individuals within the Penn State community who have shown outstanding service regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) concerns.