Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

Congratulations Students

An article acknowledging College of Education students for their accomplishments

Parrish Paul

Parrish L. Paul, doctoral candidate in the Counseling Psychology program, has been named winner of one of Penn State’s Alumni Association Dissertation Awards for 2008. Paul will receive a $5,000 award and will be recognized at the Graduate School Alumni Society’s spring social and recognition dinner on March 29.
Paul’s dissertation, titled "Gay Identity Development as a Process of Meaning-Making Development," examines how constructive development informs identity development in gay men and why some individuals seek to change their sexual orientation through the use of psychotherapy.
The Alumni Association Dissertation Awards are among the most prestigious awards available to Penn State graduate students. These awards recognize outstanding achievement in scholarship and professional accomplishment. The awards provides funding and recognition to outstanding full-time doctoral students who have passed their comprehensive exams and have received approval of the dissertation topic.

David Tandberg

David Tandberg has been named winner of the Outstanding Dissertation in the Politics of Education award for 2006–07. The award is sponsored by the Politics of Education Association, a Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association (AERA).

Tandberg earned his Ph.D. in higher education last May. He currently is executive assistant to Kathleen Shaw, deputy secretary for postsecondary and higher education in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s Department of Education.

Tandberg’s dissertation study was titled “Politics, Budgetary Trade-offs, and Public Funding of Higher Education.” Donald Heller, professor of higher education and director and senior scientist in the Center for the Study of Higher Education, chaired Tandberg's dissertation.

Both Tandberg and Heller will be honored March 26 at the AERA’s annual conference in New York.