Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

Congratulations Students

An article acknowledging College of Education students for their accomplishments

Amanda Modar

Amanda Modar, master’s student in Higher Education, received the James McKeever Promising Professional Award at the annual Pennsylvania Association for College Admission Counseling (PACAC) Conference in June 2007. The award recognizes outstanding job performance and meaningful professional services beyond the individual’s home institution. Modar also was appointed as an at-large delegate to the PACAC Executive Committee, with which she will represent four-year public colleges/universities.

Erin Reid

Erin Reid, doctoral candidate in the School Psychology program, has been awarded a two-year, $50,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to support her dissertation research. With the 2007–09 Head Start Graduate Student Research Grant, Reid will develop and evaluate the effectiveness of an early numeracy skill-development program for children enrolled in the Head Start program. Her research interests include studying the development of numeracy skills in preschool-aged children, social-emotional development, and the impact of poverty on school readiness.

Emily Janke

Emily Janke, doctoral candidate in Higher Education, was elected to the board of directors for the International Association for Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement (IARSLCE). The association is an international nonprofit organization devoted to promoting research and discussion about service-learning and community engagement. IARSLCE was launched in 2005 and incorporated in 2007.

Beth Clark

Beth Clark, M.Ed. candidate in College Student Affairs, received the Norman H. Bedell Annual APPA Institute Scholarship from the Keystone Chapter of the Eastern Region of the Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers. The scholarship, in the amount of $1,500, is awarded for use toward the tuition and expenses of the APPA Institute for Facilities Management, which Clark attended in September in Phoenix, Ariz.

APPA (formerly the Association of Physical Plant Administrators) is an international association dedicated to maintaining, protecting, and promoting the quality of educational facilities. APPA represents more than 1,500 learning institutions serving over 4,700 individuals.

Jane Harstad and Jewel Dunn

Two graduate students in the Education Policy Studies Department—Jane Harstad (Educational Leadership) and Jewel Dunn (Education Theory and Policy)—have been selected as Barbara L. Jackson Scholars for the 2007–2008 academic year. This program is sponsored by the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA). The Jackson Scholars Network consists of graduate students of color who are studying in educational leadership doctoral programs at UCEA-member institutions and who are planning to enter the professoriate.