Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

College of Education > News and Publications > News Items Folder > Patterson, Marshall Receive 2008 Awards from Presidential Commission

Patterson, Marshall Receive 2008 Awards from Presidential Commission

Article about Monica Patterson and Dan Marshall, winners of 2008 CLGBTE awards

paterson.jpgby Joe Savrock (May 2008)

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Two members of the College of Education recently received prestigious awards from Penn State’s Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Equity (CLGBTE).

Monica Patterson, a master’s candidate in the College Student Affairs program, received the Commission’s Ally Recognition Award, which honors a person within the University who is identified as an ally of the LGBT community and who has shown outstanding service regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) concerns.

J. Dan Marshall, professor of educational leadership, received the Commission’s Outstanding Service Award. This award recognizes the contributions of an individual within the University community who has led efforts to improve the climate on campus related to LGBT concerns.

marshall_sml.jpgPatterson and Marshall were honored at the CLGBTE’s Penn State Rainbow Awards reception on April 18.

The CLGBTE is one of three established Presidential Commissions at Penn State working to enhance the University’s diversity climate. The other two are the Commission for Women and the Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity (CORED).