Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

College of Education > News and Publications > News: Jan. - March 2012 > Congratulations Faculty and Staff (compiled February 2012)

Congratulations Faculty and Staff (compiled February 2012)

An acknowledgment of College of Education faculty and staff for their accomplishments

Kathleen Collins


Joe ValenteKathleen M. Collins and Joseph M. Valente, faculty members in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, were named recipients of the 2012 Disability Studies in Education (DSE) Junior Scholar Award. DSE, a Special Interest Group of the American Educational Research Association, will present the award at its annual conference in New York in May.

In addition, Valente has been awarded the The Ping Faculty Development Fellowship from the Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE). The fellowships are designed to broaden participation in international education and strengthen capacities for internationalization at eligible institutions. Valente will undertake a study titled "Disability in Situation: French Notions of Disability and Difference" in Paris, France, this summer.


Myrna CovingtonMyrna A. Covington, academic advising manager, has been selected to participate in this year’s U.S. Marine Corps Educator Workshop in Parris Island, S.C. The workshop, to be held Feb. 28–March 2, is designed to help Pennsylvania educators advise students of the programs, training, and other educational benefits offered by the marines.

In other news, Covington was nominated for the 2012 Excellence in Advising Award, a University-wide honor. She and other nominees will be recognized at a reception to be held April 10.


Susan Faircloth

Susan C. Faircloth, associate professor of educational leadership and director of the American Indian Leadership Program, has been invited to join the editorial board for Oxford Bibliographies Online: Education. This new publication was established to serve students and scholars as an authoritative guide to literature in the field.


Steven Herb

Steven L. Herb, head of the Education and Behavioral Sciences Library, is chair of this year’s Randolph Caldecott Medal Committee. The medal, named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. The Caldecott Medal honors an artist for the most distinguished American picture book for children. More than one thousand books are reviewed in the process.


Gwendolyn Lloyd

Gwendolyn M. Lloyd, professor of mathematics education, has been appointed as associate editor of the Journal of Mathematics Teacher Education (JMTE). JMTE is an international journal devoted to research that seeks to improve the education of mathematics teachers and develop teaching methods that better enable mathematics students to learn. The journal covers all stages of the professional development of mathematics teachers and teacher-educators.