Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

College of Education > News and Publications > News: Jan. - March 2012 > Congratulations Students (compiled February 2012)

Congratulations Students (compiled February 2012)

An article acknowledging College of Education students for their accomplishments

Elizabeth Cipriano Essel, research assistant and scholar in the Department of Educational Psychology, Counseling, and Special Education, has been selected as a postdoctoral fellow for the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) R25 “Building Careers for Research in Child Maltreatment and Intimate Partner Violence: Early Career Scholar Interdisciplinary Training Program.


Eryka Charley and Stephanie Cardona, doctoral candidates in the Educational Leadership program, have been selected to participate in the David L. Clark National Graduate Student Research Seminar in Educational Administration and Policy. Sponsored by the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA), Divisions A and L of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), and Sage Publications, the David L. Clark Seminar brings emerging educational administration and policy scholars and noted researchers together for two days of presentations, generative discussion, and professional growth. The majority of Clark Scholars go on to become professors at major research institutions around the world. This year’s seminar is scheduled for April at the beginning of the AERA meeting in Vancouver.


Michael Hannon, doctoral student in the Counselor Education program, has received a Leadership Fellow Award from Chi Sigma Iota International. The fellowships are awarded to individuals of exceptional merit who have exhibited leadership at their chapter level. Leadership fellowships are designed to assist graduate students and professionals in the early years of their counseling careers develop leadership skills for the benefit of the profession. Hannon’s involvement at the international level will begin in March when he attends Chi Sigma Iota activities during the American Counseling Association Conference in San Francisco.


David Knight, doctoral candidate in Higher Education, has been selected for a Presidential Management Fellowship (PMF). Created more than three decades ago by Executive Order, PMF is a flagship leadership development program at the entry level for advanced degree candidates. Knight’s research interests are interdisciplinary programs at institutions of higher education, the introduction of science topics into non-science majors, and STEM in higher education.


David Perez, doctoral candidate in the Higher Education program, has been awarded an Alumni Association Dissertation Award from Penn State’s Graduate School. This award is considered to be among the most prestigious available to Penn State graduate students and recognizes outstanding achievement in scholarship and professional accomplishment.


Nalova Westbrook, doctoral student in Curriculum and Instruction, is the recipient of a Pi Lambda Theta (PLT) research grant. PLT grants, funded by the Pi Lambda Theta Educational Endowment, are provided on the basis of importance of topic, quality and feasibility of research design, and likelihood of success.

Pi Lambda Theta was founded in 1910. Its twofold mission is to honor outstanding educators and to inspire their leadership on critical education issues. The most selective society of its kind, PLT extends membership to students and professionals who satisfy academic eligibility requirements, as well as to professional educators who have earned a PLT-recognized award or certification by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.