Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

Staff Changes: Fall 2011

Departed and new staff in the College of Education, fall 2011

ShannonK_sml_cp.jpgby Joe Savrock (September 2011)

The Office of Recruitment, Certification, and Education Services has added three new staff members:

  • Kathleen D. Shannon began work on August 11 as an academic advisor. She had been serving in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction for the past eight years as an instructor of language and literacy education.
  • mason_sml_cp.jpgGregory T. Mason also is a new academic advisor. He began his appointment on August 15.
  • T. Kathleen (Kate) Long is the new assessment and certification coordinator, effective September 6.


forlizzil_sml_cp.jpgThe Institute for the Study of Adult Literacy announces that the following new research technologist 3 appointments:

  • Lori A. Forlizzi, effective August 1.
  • Martha S. Hunter, effective August 22.
  • Ruth A. Love-Schooley, effective August 22.


emmick_sml_cp.jpgKathleen (Kate) Emmick is the new alumni relations & stewardship officer. She began work as Kate Conroy on August 9, but then was married on Sept. 17, 2011. Congratulations Kate!
Matthew A. Hansen is a systems administrator 2 in the Carrara Educational Technology Center. Matt arrived July 18, taking the position previously held by Rusty Myers.

Thomas L. Houck is a human research technologist 1 in the Regional Education Lab–Mid-Atlantic. He began work on June 6.conafalone_jackie.png



The College also announces several departures:

Jackie Confalone left her administrative support assistant position with PEPP (Penn State Educational Partnership Program) at Penn State Berks. She took another position at the Berks campus, effective August 1.





Betzi Dreibelbis has departed her position as major gifts officer in the Office of Development, Public Relations, and Alumni Programs, effective September 23.

Kara Kauffman has left her position with the Aerospace Education Services Project, effective July 31.