Continuity of Operations planning information for the College of Education: Click here

College of Education > News and Publications > News: Jan. - March 2011 > Congratulations Faculty and Staff (compiled March 2011)

Congratulations Faculty and Staff (compiled March 2011)

An acknowledgment of College of Education faculty for their accomplishments


Liza Conyers, associate professor of rehabilitation and human services, has been invited by the office of U.S. Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis to present research findings an HIV/AIDS Employment Roundtable. The event will be held April 8 at the Department of Labor’s Great Hall in Washington, D.C. The Roundtable brings together a cross-section of government agency representatives, HIV/AIDS service providers, employers, researchers, advocates, and members of the HIV/AIDS community to discuss improving employment for people living with HIV/AIDS.


James T. Herbert, professor of counselor education and rehabilitation & human services, has received the 2011 James F. Garrett Distinguished Career in Rehabilitation Research Award from the American Rehabilitation Counseling Association (ARCA) Research and Knowledge Council. Herbert received his award March 25 in conjunction with the ARCA Reception at the American Counseling Association Conference in New Orleans.

The award is highly revered in the rehabilitation counseling field, recognizing researchers who have demonstrated significant and meaningful research over their careers. “The award is not automatically given annually,” said Joseph E. Keferl, chair of the ARCA Research and Knowledge Council. “Rather, it is granted only if a deserving person is nominated by the field and is judged by peers as meeting rigorous standards of rehabilitation research in terms of scope, methodology, and impact. Dr. Herbert’s research was judged to exceed the criteria for the award, leading to a unanimous recommendation by reviewers.”


Hunt_sml.jpgBrandon B. Hunt, professor of rehabilitation and human services, has been named a Fellow of the American Counseling Association (ACA). Fellows are ACA members of professional distinction who are recognized for significant and unique contributions in professional practice, scientific achievement and governance, or teaching and training, and who have made important contributions to the counseling profession. Hunt was honored at ACA’s annual conference in New Orleans.


P. Karen Murphy, professor of educational psychology, has been elected the incoming vice president of Division C-Learning and Instruction of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). Her official term covers 2012 through 2014. As vice president, Murphy will serve on AERA council, supervise the program and internal business of the Division, and offer input in steering the Division’s direction. Division C is the second largest division of AERA with over 5,100 members and approximately 1,100 submissions for the annual conference.



Peggy N. Van Meter, associate professor of educational psychology, and her Penn State colleague, Stephen R. Turns, professor of mechanical engineering, have been named recipients of the Mechanical Engineering Division Best Paper award by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). They will be honored for their paper, titled “Applying Knowledge from Educational Psychology and Cognitive Science to a First Course in Thermodynamics,” at ASEE's 2011 Conference, to be held in June in Vancouver, Canada.

Liang Zhang, assistant professor of educational theory & policy and research associate in the Center for the Study of Higher Education, has been named an Outstanding Reviewer for his work in 2010 as a reviewer for Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis.